The Green Kingdom – Incidental Music

The Green Kingdom – Incidental Music

The Green Kingdom - Incidental MusicThe heart of Incidental Music is the acoustic guitar: melodies, chords, drones, and percussive sounds sometimes used in a straightforward manner, while at other times abstracted and manipulated to beautiful effect. Upon this foundation the palette of sounds expands quietly to include various small acoustic instruments and vinyl samples.

The result is an album more reserved and patient than any in The Green Kingdom’s repertoire. These minimal themes serve as an apt score to the small scenes occurring around us all the time. An audio accompaniment for a spontaneous still life, no matter how seemingly insignificant. Something for those stolen moments when we stop and appreciate the beauty of minutia in the often unseen world all around us.

Incidental Music was mastered by M. Ostermeier.

Photography by Russell Burden.

three friends of winter   (4.05)
backyard epiphany   (4.24)
over treetops   (6.29)
cherry theme   (3.11)
slow bloom   (5.01)
green theme   (2.40)
flotation theme   (6.36)
rshda   (3.08)
whispered through pines   (4.07)

The Green Kingdom – Egress

The Green Kingdom - EgressTracklist
01 Emerald Perspective
02 Sept.
03 Woolgathering
04 Butterstorm
05 Rusticlub
06 The Caves of Summerisle
07 Crmbld
08 Gray Waves
09 Sleep/Snow

Just a month ago I was coming back from England to Japan, on the eighth flight I have done between my two homes in just a few months. Utterly shattered, with the cabin lights off, I stuck my headphones on and put one the most cathartic records I’ve ever heard on. It was ‘Egress’ by a certain artist called The Green Kingdom.

I’ve been following Michael Cottone’s work under The Green Kingdom moniker since Mike at Smallfish gave me a copy of his superb Jasmine release. With releases on such brilliant labels as SEM, Own, Home Assembly and The Land Of, ‘Egress’ feels like the culmination of years of beautifully organic, tender work by an artist at the height of his creative powers. At once a kind of delicate form of folk-ambient-electronica, Michael’s work has always been more than the sum of its parts and far too full of depth and sincerity for me to even try to define or summarise. So I won’t. All I know is that once those headphones went on, and ‘Egress’ went on loop for the next 6 hours straight, it felt as if I was being cradled finally, just when I really needed it. I just felt, for the first time in months, that everything was going to be ok. (Ian Hawgood)

Escape Art – Air Texture I Mix

Escape Art – Air Texture I Mix

1. The Green Kingdom “Kalimba Sketch” (Air Texture Vol. I)
2. Rafael Anton Irisarri “Flowstone” (Air Texture Vol. I)
3. Andrew Thomas “Black Sky, Bright Sun” (Air Texture Vol. I)
4. loscil “Hyphae” (Air Texture Vol. I)
5. Dario Marianelli “Wandering Jane” (Jane Eyre Soundtrack, Sony)
6. Brian McBride “At A Loss” (unreleased, Air Texture Vol. II)
7. bvdub “Tried So Hard” (Air Texture Vol. I)